Parenting done right…

Whenever I’m doubting my efforts, I’ve discovered that if I hop on to my 8 year olds’ school FB year group page, I’ll soon feel on top of it all again :p

Today’s post: did anybody else from3G forget to pack their child’s library bag today? I’m going to be in so much trouble when they get home 😦

And people actually respond positively… they sympathise: me too! I forgot the homework folder last week! Etc…

I want to write (but I won’t): at what age will you let the apron strings go just a little?? At what age will they pack their own bag? Make their own lunch? Tie their own shoes…

My kids packed for Hawaii. I checked if they remembered swimmers. I remembered the passports. I assume they also packed for the two weeks at their dad’s, because I didn’t! And I didn’t hear the expected complaints…

And… my 8 year old has a processing disorder. My aim in life is to get him to remember to put shoes on when he leaves the house. When he’s older, I’ll focus on remembering the wallet, phone, keys… baby steps! 

I know his sister helps him. She organises me often enough! She has weekly calendars above both their beds. She makes sure he changes it each week. 

But honestly… if they’re expecting me to remember library day? Sports day? Pe? And to be angry when I don’t?!? 

Leave a Reply

