The child doesn’t listen to me… I get that it’s fun to play in the rain.. but seriously… The wind carried on so much last night, lifting and slamming the shade cloth back down again, that it eventually lifted the post out of the decking… I haven’t braved going downstairs yet to see under the decking… I’m just really hoping that the stilts this house is built on are still firmly stuck in the ground AND the house…

On a good note, the shade cloth stopped smashing and the house is no longer shuddering with every gust of wind… And I now know I am NOT strong enough to unhook the shade cloth in the middle of the night… but I do now know how to undo each anchor…

So woke to yet another window with water pouring down it, and a half soaked kitchen…

And it seems that’s water damage near the door… as well as copious water that just keeps pouring under no matter how many towels I use to mop it…

In the light of day… the post is now on the ground… the trees are all currently standing, but struggling to stay upright… the bbq is glistening without its cover…

and the tarp has blown off the boxes out the front and I’m sure I’ve lost another half dozen boxes of books 😥 amongst other things, but it’s the books that sadden me most…


Can’t get much more ‘coastal’ than on the side of a hill with ocean views… 

And then there’s my crazy child… the insane baby dragon who is convinced she is invincible… who insists on playing outside, under the gum tree we’re all waiting to come crashing down… it’s a damned huge tree, too… Battling a dragon… just what I need between mopping up water and praying the house doesn’t actually slide down the hill…

Leave a Reply

