It is morning and I am yawning… I’m convinced the teen is planning to spend the trip catching up on a lifetime of sleep…   

 No need to rush today though – we’re here for two nights… It’s already starting to feel like home 😉

Yesterday was driving… driving… driving… to Queenstown…. No one to take the happy snaps, as she slept…   

   
The one lane bridges throughout NZ still mess with my head… Forever stopping… Forever forgetting to stop!   

I’m loving the NZ safety radio messages (but not the intermittent radio service!!)… Drive safely, don’t ruin someone else’s life… I know you want to keep your baby close, but keep them in the back seat… 

Lake Hawea – there is no gentle flowing water in NZ! Or if there is, we’re yet to find it… Everything is tumultuous, discontented…  

What’s with the bonfires on every beach? NewYear?   

Then up through the amazing Crown range 🙂   

   
And finally…. Having driven past too many places at which we should have stopped… Queenstown 🙂  

I feel like we’re moving too fast… I want to go back and undo the organisation. I almost didn’t book accommodation until we arrived… But given the time of year… Glad I did! Twice so far they’ve double booked us and had to do some crazy scrambling to find us other accommodation. NZ is decidedly booked out at this time of year! But we are skimming… I want to stop and see and experience. I want to hike. I want to climb. I want to take the road less travelled. 

Leave a Reply

